Story of Redemption Bible ~Review~

redemption bible

ESV Story of Redemption Bible

Published by: Crossway

4 stars

Crossway describes this study bible as, “The ESV Story of Redemption Bible: A Journey through the Unfolding Promises of God leads readers on a journey through this storyline from start to finish, with conversational commentary written by pastor Greg Gilbert interspersed throughout the full ESV text. With the aim of encouraging interaction and contemplation passage by passage, Gilbert explains how every part of Scripture fits together and is ultimately centered on Christ. Particularly suitable to those who are new to the Bible but rich with insights for even the most seasoned Bible reader.”

The function of the bible confused me a little at the beginning, but the more I read, the more I understood. I love how everything in this bible is focused on chronological order. It recommends a different order to reading the scriptures than I am used to, but it keeps you focused on the story line.

The commentary is almost a play-by-play of the bible. It is slightly odd, but definitely well-suited for a bible newbie. I felt like it was trying to make the bible stories even more epic. I could see how people would really enjoy it.

One thing I didn’t like was commentary placement. Sections of the commentary were randomly scattered on the page. Sometimes it was hard to tell what was scripture and what wasn’t.

This is a great study bible for people who are new to the bible. It keeps you invested and intrigued in the story, helps to outline the main points, and ultimately leads you to the focus of the bible: Jesus.

 

~I was sent a free copy of this book from Crossway for an honest review~

Leave a comment